Friday, April 23, 2010


San Diego Unified set a district record with the number of schools named as California Distinguished Schools in 2010. The schools on this year's list are: Barnard Mandarin Chinese Magnet, Bay Park, Bird Rock, Birney, Cadman, Chesterton, EB Scripps, Ericson, Foster, Jones, Loma Portal, Nye, Perry, Sequoia and Vista Grande. The 15 elementary schools are the most in one year for San Diego Unified since the program began in the mid-1980s. Elementary and secondary schools are awarded in alternate years. In 2009, six middle and high schools were awarded.

Schools were evaluated based on their test scores from the state Academic Performance Index and federal No Child Left Behind (NCLB) Adequate Yearly Progress, as well as efforts to narrow the achievement gap among ethnic groups. Each school had to describe two signature practices that lead to a narrowing of the achievement gap and an increase in student achievement. Congratulations to all who were involved in this outstanding accomplishment, including the schools’ administrators, staff, students and parents. This recognition is a reflection of collective best efforts, genuine teamwork and a singular pursuit of excellence.

No comments: